Diss Open report

Diss Otters Swimming Club were triumphant this weekend in hosting their annual Open Competition at the UEA Sportspark with all 50 Diss Otters swimmers putting on a show for the vibrant crowd, showing their skills and picking up medals in all events. Competing against teams from City of Norwich, Norwich Swan, Great Yarmouth and RTW Monson the Diss Otters team did themselves proud, “it was awesome to see all of the Diss Otters swimming so well and picking up so many medals, i’m really proud to be boys team captain of such a great club” said Sam Neal.

The atmosphere was electric all through the day and with many Diss Otters swimmers making final heats the team supported each other strongly, girls team captain Emma Halmshaw summed this up superbly saying ”it was lovely to see such great atmosphere in both the pool and on poolside and the great team spirit between everyone of all ages”.

Also competing this weekend was Joel Clarke. A huge achievement for Joel who competed for Norfolk in the National Inter Counties competition at Ponds Forge, Sheffield. Breaking the 30 second barrier in the 50m butterfly event for the first time Head Coach Jamie Rush said “It was a great achievement for Joel to qualify for this prestigious event but to hold his nerve and produce his quickest ever performance shows great quality, the club are honoured to have him represent us at this level”.

The Diss Otters Open team

The Golden Girls – Lauren Armour, Kirsty Barker, Verity Boylan, Tatum Brown, Amber Dewsbery, Madison Dewsbery, Charlotte Dickinson, Lotty Gates, Emma Halmshaw, Katie Halmshaw, Charlotte Hutchings, Elise Jefferis, Cassia Miller, Ottilie Miller, Ellen Nicholas, Emily Noble, Alice Palmer, Charlotte Palmer, Pippa Rice, Amber Smith, Lauren Smith, Lauren Taylor, Yasmin Brown, Stephanie Brown, Ruby Greenhalf, Imogen Grimes, Olivia Chapman, Lydia Barraclough, Thea Irvine, Alise Small.

The Brilliant Boys – Jude Ashken, Max Ashken, Callum Blair, Nathan Sullivan, Jacob Blades, Dominic Boylan, William Johnson, Cameron Day, William Dickinson, Thomas Johnson, William Johnson, Matthew Munnings, Sam Neal, Christopher Tatum, Matthew Tatum, Ryan Waters.

Congratulations to all!

p.s. results available on the events tab